SkipTheGrind.Online Logo
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Season of Discovery Overview

WoW SoD: Complete Overview for Season of Discovery

Launched on November 30th, the WoW Classic Season of Discovery introduces a fresh take on the beloved Azeroth. Players can explore familiar lands anew, uncovering hidden locations and engaging in quests, dungeons, and raids. A significant feature of this season is the introduction of Runes, offering new class abilities that promise to redefine gameplay​

Realm Arrangement

The SoD is live with a select number of realms, each accommodating a larger player base. This is thanks to the technology from patch 1.14.4. Notably, Blizzard focuses on maintaining faction balance in PVP realms, a strategy aimed at addressing longstanding player concerns

Available Realms:

Americas & Oceania:

Chaos Bolt – PvP RP
Crusader StrikePvP RP
Lava LashRP
Living FlamePvP
Lone WolfPvP
Penance (AU)PvE
Shadowstrike (AU) – PvP
Wild Growth – PvE


Chaos Bolt – PvP
Crusader Strike – PvP RP
Lava Lash – RP
Living Flame – PvP
Lone Wolf – PvP
Wild Growth – PvE

Phased Rollout

The SoD unfolds in several Phases, each with a specific level cap and new content. This gradual rollout ensures a dynamic and ever-evolving gameplay experience.

Phases Overview:

  • Phase 1: Level cap at 25, featuring Blackfathom Deeps raid and Battle for Ashenvale PVP.
  • Phase 2: Level cap at 40, introducing Gnomeregan raid, New Runes, More Dungeons, and Blood Moon Stranglethorn PvP Event.
  • Phase 3: Level cap at 50; content is yet to be announced.
  • Phase 4: Level cap at 60; content is yet to be announced

Class and Gameplay Changes

All existing WoW Classic classes are playable, including Druids, Hunters, Mages, Paladins (Alliance only), Priests, Rogues, Shamans (Horde only), Warlocks, and Warriors. The Runes system allows for expanded abilities and class roles, potentially altering traditional class gameplay.

Class Roles:

  • Tanks: Druid, Paladin, Rogue, Shaman, Warlock, Warrior
  • Healers: Druid, Mage, Paladin, Priest, Shaman
  • DPS: All classes​

The Runes System

A base feature of SoD, the Runes system, involves finding Runes scattered across Azeroth and engraving them onto gear for various effects. In the Season of Discovery Phase 1, each class has 12 Runes, applicable to chest, gloves, and leg slots. Rune Engraving is a flexible system, allowing changes outside of combat​

SoD Phase 2 Runes

The second Phase of Season of Discovery is bringing players 2/3 new Runes, depending on the class you play. These new Runes from Phase 2 can be engraved to Belts and Boots.

Raids and PVP Events

Each Phase in SoD introduces a new raid, reimagined from existing content but scaled to match the difficulty of traditional end-game raids. For instance, Phase 1 features the Blackfathom Deeps as a 10-player raid. Additionally, Ashenvale becomes a dynamic world PVP zone, offering new experiences and exclusive rewards like a special mount.

In SoD Phase 2 Gnomeregan is a new 10-player raid that will be available for all (Horde and Alliance) Players. Just like in the First Phase, the Second Phase Transforms Stranglethorn Valey into an open-world battlefield. Players will have the option to opt out of this event. However, if they choose to do so they will not earn new currency that can be used to purchase new gear, mounts, crafting recipes, and a lot more.

Final Thoughts

The WoW Classic Season of Discovery is a game-changer, offering a blend of nostalgia and innovation. With new gameplay mechanics, class roles, and phased content, it redefines the classic WoW experience. Players are encouraged to explore, experiment, and enjoy this fresh take on a timeless world.

However, we at SkipTheGrind.Online understand that not everyone have time or patience to do things over and would like a litle bit of help. That’s why you can always make a request for anything SoD related and we will be happy to help out.

Remember, we grind so you don’t have to!

Table of Contents

related posts