SkipTheGrind.Online Logo
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
World of Warcraft Guides

World of Warcraft: Guide to Choosing an Expansion

World of Warcraft is a massive game that spans multiple continents, worlds and timelines. Each expansion adds new content, features and challenges to the game, but also changes the way you level up your character and explore the world. Choosing an expansion is an important decision that will affect your gameplay experience and progression. In this section, we will explain the main differences between each expansion, how to access them and what to expect from them. Whether you are a new player or a veteran, there is an expansion for you.

Here is a brief overview of each expansion and what they offer:

Battle for Azeroth (BfA): This is the default option for new players. It focuses on the war between the Alliance and the Horde, and takes you to the continents of Kul Tiras and Zandalar. You can choose to level up in either one of them, or switch between them using a boat or a portal. You will also unlock World Quests at level 50, which are dynamic quests that appear on the map and offer various rewards. BfA is a good choice if you want to experience the latest content and story before moving on to Dragonflight.

Legion: This expansion revolves around the invasion of the Burning Legion, a demonic army that threatens to destroy Azeroth. You will travel to the Broken Isles, a group of islands that hold ancient secrets and powerful artifacts. You will also unlock your Class Hall, a special base for your class where you can recruit followers, upgrade your artifact weapon, and access missions. Legion is a good choice if you want to explore a diverse and rich world with many secrets and surprises.

Warlords of Draenor (WoD): This expansion takes you back in time to an alternate version of Draenor, the homeworld of the orcs and draenei. You will witness the rise of the Iron Horde, a coalition of orc clans that seek to conquer Azeroth with advanced technology. You will also build your own Garrison, a personal fortress where you can recruit followers, collect resources, and access missions. WoD is a good choice if you want to experience a different timeline and see familiar faces in a new light.

Mists of Pandaria (MoP): This expansion introduces you to the mysterious continent of Pandaria, a land of ancient secrets and hidden dangers. You will encounter the pandaren, a race of humanoid pandas that live in harmony with nature. You will also learn about the sha, negative emotions that manifest as dark creatures. MoP is a good choice if you want to immerse yourself in a colorful and exotic culture with a lot of humor and charm.

Cataclysm: This expansion changes the face of Azeroth forever, as the dragon aspect Deathwing unleashes his wrath upon the world. You will witness the aftermath of his destruction, as well as new threats that emerge from the chaos. You will also revisit some of the classic zones from vanilla WoW, which have been revamped and updated with new quests and features. Cataclysm is a good choice if you want to see how Azeroth has changed over time and experience some nostalgia.

Wrath of the Lich King (WotLK): This expansion takes you to Northrend, the frozen continent where the Lich King rules with an iron fist. You will face his undead army, the Scourge, as well as other enemies such as the vrykul, the naga, and the blue dragonflight. You will also join one of two factions: the Argent Crusade or the Knights of the Ebon Blade, two rival factions that fight against the Lich King. WotLK is a good choice if you want to face one of the most iconic villains in Warcraft lore and enjoy a dark and epic atmosphere.

The Burning Crusade (TBC): This expansion takes you to Outland, the shattered remains of Draenor that have been corrupted by the Burning Legion. You will encounter new races such as the draenei and the blood elves, as well as old enemies such as Illidan Stormrage and Kael’thas Sunstrider. You will also access the Eye of the Storm, a PvP battleground that combines capture-the-flag and king-of-the-hill mechanics. TBC is a good choice if you want to experience the first expansion of WoW and explore a diverse and alien world.

Classic: This option lets you level up in the original zones of WoW, before any of the expansions changed them. You will experience the game as it was when it launched in 2004, with all its charm and challenge. You will also access the original dungeons and raids, such as Molten Core, Blackwing Lair, and Naxxramas. Classic is a good choice if you want to relive the nostalgia of WoW’s early days and enjoy a more hardcore and authentic experience.


We hope that this guide gave you an idea which expansion you’d like to play on.

If you need help with leveling to 60 or beyond, you can use our Leveling service, we will be more than happy to help!

We grind so you don’t have to!

related services

Table of Contents

related posts